Announcements

Wadden Sea World Heritage Summer School 2018
The Wadden Sea World Heritage Summer School is a joint initiative of three research institutes, namely NIOZ, AWI and ICBM, as well as the Waddenacademie.
[18.08. - 31.08.18] Flyer:Flyer Summer School 2108




Particulars

Dr. Holger Freund, head of the ICBM research group Geoecology, has been elected chair at the annual general meeting of the German Mellumrat society. The election took place on 10 March at the Dangast National Park House in the village of Dangast, Germany.


Prof. Dr. Oliver Zielinski and Dr. Katharina Pahnke-May, (both ICBM), have been appointed by the German Federal Ministry of Education and Research and the German Research Foundation (DFG) as members of the newly established „Review Panel Research Vessels“. 

ICBM and HIFMB

Video-Portal on YouTube

Travelling Exhibition, with participation of ICBM, started on 27 September 2017

Latest News

"Mouse-Team" at ICBM

German famous children’s TV programme „Broadcast with the Mouse“ visited ICBM this week. On a story around marine litter, video shooting took place last wednesday (11.07.) at the Wilhelmshaven site of the institution as well as near Schillig. The programme is expected to be broadcast on German TV ARD in late summer.

17.06.2018 – ICBM

Prize Money for Info Campaign on Marine Litter

On 16 June, Prof. Dr. Joerg-Olaf Wolff and Ph.D. student Rosanna Schoeneich-Argent took part in the awards ceremony of the Barthel Foundation funded competition „Frieslands Helden der Heimat“ (Heroes of the Friesian Homeland) in Varel, Lower Saxony. Their project proposal on information on the issues of marine litter won them the second place in the category „Environmental Protection“. They were awarded with the certificate of the prize, remunerated with 5,000 Euros, by Lower Saxony’s Minister of the Environment Olaf Lies.more


29.05.2018 – ICBM

Ecology on land and in (cold) water

Recently, participants of the ICBM excursion to the mediterranean island of Giglio depicted their first impressions in a webblog. The students were accompanied by pleasant anticipation when starting their first snorkel tour, which was the first snorkeling experience to some of them at all. The initially even in wetsuits unexpected cold water did not derogate from scientific impetus. more


16.05.2018 – ICBM

METEOR cruise M147 comes to its end

The 147th RV METEOR expedition led scientists of ICBM, amongst team members of other research facilities, to the Amazon estuary. On whit sunday, 20 May, cruise M 147 will come to its end in Belém, Brazil. What made the estuary of the biggest stream on earth such attractive to the scientists? In his blog, local consultant Clive Maguire also lets us hear some vivid reports of the scientists aboard.more


 

Events

  • 18.08.2018 - 31.08.2018: Wadden Sea World Heritage Summer School 2018»
  • 12.09.2018 - 14.09.2018: Youmares 9»

    YOUMARES: . . YOUMARES was organised for the first time in 2010 as network meeting for YOUng MArine RESearchers. Within the German Society for Marine Research (DGM) the Working Group on Studies and Education was founded to organise that yearly event. Since 2010 YOUMARES has developed into the largest meeting for young marine scientists in Germany. It is now well-known among young researchers as an excellent platform to present results in a professional atmosphere that, at the same time, still manages to avoid the sometimes overwhelming character of established scientific meetings. The concept is to exchange ideas in an easy-to-talk-to group of similar minds. In other words, it has grown up while remaining young at heart.

  • 08.10.2018: ICBM PhD Day
  •  
  •  
  •  
  •  
  •  
  •  
  •  

Real time data Spiekeroog

Last probe 15.08.2018 05:09
Air temperature18.0° C
Air pressure1014 hPa
Humidity96.0%
Water temperature20.3° C
Wind speed5.8m/s
Wind directionSW 203.0°

Ankündigungen

Wadden Sea World Heritage Summer School 2018
Die Wattenmeer Weltnaturerbe Summer School ist eine Gemeinschaftsinitiative der drei Forschungseinrichtungen NIOZ, AWI und ICBM sowie der niederländischen Wattenakademie.
Sie wird in englischer Sprache abgehalten.
[18.08. - 31.08.18] Flyer:Flyer Summer School 2108




Personalia

Der Leiter der ICBM-Arbeitsgruppe Geökologie, PD Dr. Holger Freund, wurde auf der Jahreshauptversamm-lung des Mellumrates am 10. März im Nationalparkhaus Dangast zum neuen Vorsitzenden des Vereins gewählt.


Prof. Dr. Oliver Zielinski und Dr. Katharina Pahnke-May, beide ICBM, sind vom Bundesministerium für Bildung und Forschung (BMBF) und von der Deutschen Forschungsgemeinschaft (DFG) in das neue „Gutachterpanel Forschungsschiffe“ berufen worden.

ICBM und HIFMB

Travelling Exhibition, with participation of ICBM, started on 27 September 2017

Aktuelle Themen

„Maus“-Team am ICBM

Ein Team des bekannten Kinderprogramms „Sendung mit der Maus“ war in dieser Woche am ICBM zu Gast. Mittwoch (11.07.) fanden die Dreharbeiten zu einem Beitrag um Plastikmüll im Meer am Standort Wilhelmshaven und auf See vor Schillig statt. Voraussichtlich im Spätsommer wird die Sendung in der ARD ausgestrahlt.

17.06.2018 – ICBM

Preisgeld für Info-Kampagne über Meeresmüll

Am 16. Juni nahmen Prof. Dr. Jörg-Olaf Wolff und die Doktorandin Rosanna Schöneich-Argent in Varel an der Preisverleihung des von der Barthel Stiftung geförderten Wettbewerbs „Frieslands Helden der Heimat“ teil. Ihr Projektvorschlag zum Thema Aufklärung über die Vermüllung der Meere erreichte den zweiten Platz in der Kategorie Umweltschutz. Die Urkunde zu dem mit 5.000 Euro dotierten Gewinn erhielten sie aus den Händen des Niedersächsischen Umweltministers Olaf Lies.mehr


29.05.2018 – ICBM

Ökologie an Land und in (kaltem) Wasser

Erste Eindrücke schilderten jetzt TeilnehmerInnen der ICBM-Studienfahrt nach Giglio im eigens dafür angelegten blog. Vorfreude begleitete die Studierenden ins Wasser der für so manche(n) ersten Schnorchel-Tour des Lebens. Dass sich das Wasser in den Nassanzügen dann zunächst unerwartet kalt präsentierte, tat dem wissenschaftlichen Eifer keinen Abbruch.mehr


16.05.2018 – ICBM

METEOR-Reise M147 geht zu Ende

Die 147. Expedition des Forschungsschiffes METEOR führte Forscher des ICBM und anderer Forschungseinrichtungen in die Amazonas-Mündung. Pfingstsonntag geht M 147 im brasilianischen Belém zu Ende. Was war so anziehend für die Forscher im Ästuar des größten Stroms der Erde? Im blog Clive Maguires kamen auch die Wissenschaftler zu Wort.mehr


 

Kontakt

Direktor

Prof. Dr. Oliver Zielinski

Stellvertretung

Prof. Dr. Bernd Blasius

Prof. Dr. Thorsten Dittmar

Geschäftsführung

Dr. Birte Junge | Birgit Stein, Koordinatorin der Geschäfte des ICBM

Institutsleitung

Mitarbeiter

Veranstaltungen

  • 18.08.2018 - 31.08.2018: Wadden Sea World Heritage Summer School 2018»
  • 12.09.2018 - 14.09.2018: Youmares 9 »

    YOUMARES: . .

    YOUMARES wurde 2010 als Netzwerk-Treffen für junge Meereswissenschaftler ins Leben gerufen. Seit 2010 hat sich die Konferenz zur größten Veranstaltung für Jungwissenschaftler im Bereich Meereswissenschaften entwickelt und ist beliebt als ausgezeichnete Plattform zur Vorstellung wissenschaftlicher Ergebnisse in professionellem Umfeld ohne die bisweilen beeindruckende Atmosphäre arrivierter wissenschaftlicher Treffen. Organisiert wird YOUMARES von einem Doktoranden-Team.

  • 08.10.2018: ICBM PhD Day
  •  
  •  
  •  
  •  
  •  
  •  
  •